Alabama wide receiver DeVonta Smith won the 2020 Heisman Trophy during a virtual ceremony top top Tuesday, Jan. 5, 2021. Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence, Alabama quarterback Mac Jones and Florida quarterback Kyle Trask to be the other finalists.

You are watching: University of alabama heisman trophy winners

Smith posted an FBS-best 1,511 receiving yards and 98 receptions in 11 games during the 2020 season (not including the college Football Playoff). He additionally caught 17 touchdown passes. Blacksmith is just the fourth broad receiver to win the award, and the first since Michigan"s Desmond Howard in 1991.

The recipient is the third Crimson birds player to win the Heisman. Alabama"s 2 previous recipients, mark Ingram in 2009 and also Derrick Henry in 2015, were both to run backs. That"s 3 winners in the last 12 years for Nick Saban"s program.

HEISMAN HISTORY: Every winner and runner-up due to the fact that 1935

Voting closeup of the door on Dec. 21, 2020, and was based on each player"s on-field power from the continuous season v the conference championship games.

Here is the vote total:

1. DeVonta Smith, Alabama (WR) — 1,8562. Trevor Lawrence, Clemson (QB) — 1,1873. Mac Jones, Alabama (QB) — 1,1304. Kyle Trask, Florida (QB) — 7375. Najee Harris, Alabama (RB) — 2166. Breece Hall, Iowa State (RB) — 647. Justin Fields, Ohio State (QB) — 488. Zach Wilson, BYU (QB) — 429. Ian Book, Notre Dame (QB) — 3810. Kyle Pitts, Florida (TE) — 24

Despite missing two games due to the fact that of COVID-19, Lawrence threw for 2,753 yards and 22 touchdowns against four interceptions while also running for seven scores on 211 yards during the 2020 season (not including the college Football Playoff).

Jones threw because that 3,795 yards and also 32 touchdowns in 11 games during the 2020 season (not including the college Football Playoff). Only four of his passing attempts were intercepted. His completion percent of 76.5 was likewise the highest in the FBS.

Trask threw for 4,125 yards and 43 touchdowns (both of which led the FBS) against eight interceptions in 11 games during the 2020 season. His 43 touchdown passes broke the ahead Florida record of 39, collection by Danny Wuerffel during his 1996 Heisman season.

STRIKE A POSE: Colleges with the most Heisman Trophy winners

With Smith coming in first and also Jones at third, they"re just the 6th pair of teammates to ever before finish among the optimal three in Heisman voting.

YearPlayers (finish)School
2020DeVonta smith - WR (1) | Mac Jones - QB (3)Alabama
2005Reggie shrub - RB (1)* | Matt Leinart - QB (3)USC
2004Adrian Peterson - RB (2) | Jason White - QB (3)Oklahoma
1972Johnny Rodgers - WR (1) | wealthy Glover - DL (3)Nebraska
1945Doc Blanchard - FB (1) | valley Davis - RB (2)Army
1944Glenn Davis - RB (2) | Doc Blanchard - FB (3)Army

THE INAUGURAL WINNER: Jay Berwanger’s 1935 Heisman season, retold game by old-timey game

Heisman Trophy winners: History

2020DeVonta SmithAlabamaWR
2019Joe BurrowLSUQB
2018Kyler MurrayOklahomaQB
2017Baker MayfieldOklahomaQB
2016Lamar JacksonLouisvilleQB
2015Derrick HenryAlabamaRB
2014Marcus MariotaOregonQB
2013Jameis WinstonFlorida StateQB
2012Johnny ManzielTexas A&MQB
2011Robert Griffin IIIBaylorQB
2010Cam NewtonAuburnQB
2009Mark Ingram Jr.AlabamaRB
2008Sam BradfordOklahomaQB
2007Tim TebowFloridaQB
2006Troy SmithOhio StateQB
2005Reggie Bush*Southern CaliforniaRB
2004Matt LeinartSouthern CaliforniaQB
2003Jason WhiteOklahomaQB
2002Carson PalmerSouthern CaliforniaQB
2001Eric CrouchNebraskaQB
2000Chris WeinkeFlorida StateQB
1999Ron DayneWisconsinRB
1998Ricky WilliamsTexasRB
1997Charles WoodsonMichiganCB/returner
1996Danny WuerffelFloridaQB
1995Eddie GeorgeOhio StateRB
1994Rashaan SalaamColoradoRB
1993Charlie WardFlorida StateQB
1992Gino TorrettaMiamiQB
1991Desmond HowardMichiganWR/returner
1990Ty DetmerBYUQB
1989Andre WareHoustonQB
1988Barry SandersOklahoma StateRB
1987Tim BrownNotre DameWR
1986Vinny TestaverdeMiamiQB
1985Bo JacksonAuburnRB
1984Doug FlutieBoston CollegeQB
1983Mike RozierNebraskaRB
1982Herschel WalkerGeorgiaRB
1981Marcus AllenSouthern CaliforniaRB
1980George RogersSouth CarolinaRB
1979Charles WhiteSouthern CaliforniaRB
1978Billy SimsOklahomaRB
1977Earl CampbellTexasRB
1976Tony DorsettPittRB
1975Archie GriffinOhio StateRB
1974Archie GriffinOhio StateRB
1973John CappellettiPenn StateRB
1972Johnny RodgersNebraskaWR/RB
1971Patt SullivanAuburnQB
1970Jim PlunkettStanfordQB
1969Steve OwensOklahomaFB
1968O.J. SimpsonSouthern CaliforniaHB
1967Gary BebanUCLAQB
1966Steve SpurrierFloridaQB
1965Mike GarrettSouthern CaliforniaHB
1964John HuarteNotre DameQB
1963Roger StaubachNavyQB
1962Terry BakerOregon StateQB
1961Ernie DavisSyracuseHB/LB/FB
1960Joe BellinoNavyHB
1959Billy CannonLSUHB
1958Pete DawkinsArmyHB
1957John David CrowTexas A&MHB
1956Paul HornungNotre DameQB
1955Howard CassadyOhio StateHB
1954Alan AmecheWisconsinFB
1953Johnny LattnerNotre DameHB
1952Billy VesselsOklahomaHB
1951Dick KazmaierPrincetonHB
1950Vic JanowiczOhio StateHB/P
1949Leon HartNotre DameEnd
1948Doak WalkerSMUHB
1947Johnny LujackNotre DameQB
1946Glenn DavisArmyHB
1945Doc BlanchardArmyFB
1944Les HorvathOhio StateQB/HB
1943Angelo BertelliNotre DameQB
1942Frank SinkwichGeorgiaHB
1941Bruce SmithMinnesotaHB
1940Tom HarmonMichiganHB
1939Nile KinnickIowaHB/QB
1938Davey O"BrienTCUQB
1937Clint FrankYaleHB
1936Larry KelleyYaleEnd
1935Jay BerwangerChicagoHB



Undefeated university football groups in 2021

Here room the last staying undefeated groups for the 2021 season.

See more: How Big Is 350 Sq Feet ? What Is The Size Of A 350 Sq Ft Room

READ an ext

Here's the likelihood of a team making the university Football Playoff ~ an undefeated start through main 6

We take it a big-picture approach and check the seasons since the begin of the college Football Playoff to analysis what percent of undefeated teams, ~ above a weekly basis, eventually made the CFP.