The U.S. State that Rhode Island is divided into 5 Counties. Discover the Rhode Island county Map, all Counties list along with their County seat in alphabetical order and their population, areas and the date of formation.

You are watching: Number of counties in rhode island

About Rhode Island ar Map: The map mirroring the ar boundary, all counties boundary, state capital and also neighbouring states.

About Counties of Rhode Island

U.S State of Rhode Island is situated in brand-new England component of the joined States. ~ the civil battle the state was no willing to sign up with the Union. Once the invoice of legal rights was added in the structure Rhode Island joined in the Union as thirteenth state in the year 1790. Rhode Island is the smallest state by area in the joined States and seventh least populous state. The state is called after the island. The state is bordered by Connecticut to the west, Massachusetts come the north and Atlantic s to the south. The funding city the Rhode Island is Providence and it is the many populous city in Rhode Island. The climatic problem of the state is continental climate which consists of with hot summers and cold winters. U.S state that Rhode Island is one the claims that has fewer counties in the state.

Counties the Rhode Island five in number. They room Bristol County, Kent County, Newport County, Providence County and also Washington County. Off every the Counties of Rhode Island the wealthiest county is Newport through $36,994 per capita income. Bristol is the 2nd highest earning county. Also though Rhode Island is split into counties yet counties do to have actually county government. The obligation of local federal government is offered to municipalities because county federal government was denomination in the year 1842. There are 39 municipalities in the state of Rhode Island. Counties that Rhode Island further split into municipalities. There are 39 cities and towns in the state the Rhode Islands. Cities and towns the the state are split again into villages. There room some powers vested on cities and towns for the administration purpose and administrative bodies of city and town are exercise and administer a the majority of services to the citizens of the state.

See more: What Is 1.25 Ml On A Syringe, How To Read Syringes: 8 Steps (With Pictures)

The U.S. State the Rhode Island has 5 Counties. This is list of Rhode Island Counties and County seat in alphabetical order together with check your population, areas and also the day of formation.

List of Counties in Rhode Island through County Seats

S.NCountyCounty SeatPopulationArea Formed
1Bristol CountyBristol49,87524 sq mi1747
2Kent CountyEast Greenwich166,158168 sq mi1750
3Newport CountyNewport82,888102 sq mi1703
4Providence CountyProvidence626,667409 sq mi1703
5Washington CountySouth Kingstown*126,979329 sq mi1729