On June 9th, California becomes the 2nd state to change its tobacco minimum-age sales law to 21 years old because that tobacco, e-cigarettes and also vaping products.* Hawaii adjusted to “21” in ~ the beginning of 2016. Brand-new York City, Boston and also Kansas City are at this time at the “21” minimum-age and Chicago switches come “21” on July 1st. And also FDA authorize a 499-page “deeming regulations” the covers e-cigarettes, vaping products, cigars, hookah tobacco and other products. For more on California, click here, because that FDA, click here. But first, the California “21” law.

You are watching: Do you have to be 21 to buy a lighter in california

If you’re a California retailer or a retailer in an area where the age has changed, indigenous 18 to 21 years old, (*U.S. Energetic Duty military personnel space exempt native this brand-new law. The minimum age for tobacco assets remains 18 for them.) make sure you"re prepared.

Are you Ready? What around your in-store signage?

What’s more, your employees should be equipped so that they’re “trained-and-confident” in expertise what’s intended of them.

May I suggest several come DOs to get ready:

#1 Re-Train Employees
*
as soon as there’s a major law change, that a great time to get your employees re-trained. That sets the phase for compliance through the law and conditions her employees to take on the minimum-age readjust to 21 year old if re-enforcing the methods to “card,” indentify minors and also deny their attempts to purchase age-restricted products.#3 Use period Calculation device at the Point-of-Sale even if it is it’s developed into your cash register through an age-prompt (change your system to reflect the brand-new “21” minimum-age requirement!) or it’s among We Card’s tools, need your employees to usage it each-and-every time.

We Card’s mobile website – keolistravelservices.comNOW.COM has: 

*
eCalendar It’s just like We Card’s age of purchase Calendar that numerous retailers use at the point-of-sale as soon as carding customers – however it’s now on your phone! select which state she in and choose the calendar you’d like to usage (tobacco, alcohol, a combined tobacco-alcohol or e-Cig/Vapor calendar.)Age Calculator Another great tool to use once carding a customer. This one calculates exact periods when you get in a customer’s date-of-birth and also it indicates whether the “OKAY to SELL” or “DO not SELL” because that Tobacco, Vapor and Alcohol products. Really handy and also it’s state law certain as well.

See more: Watch Tyler Perry I Know I'Ve Been Changed Play Online Free

#4 Equip your store with We Card “21” Signage
*
We have actually a range of “21” decals and also stickers for you to usage to communicate your us Card policy. Pick what’s ideal for you. Castle serve two purposes:1) supporting your employee (and recall them) to “card,” identify minors and deny your attempts in ~ purchasing age-restricted products, and2) connecting to customers her responsible retailing efforts.#5 Post any type of required state federal government sign and also keep up-to-date top top the law’s implementation.

If you a California retailer you’ll should keep tabs top top the new state law and also required signs. Inspect here for details and brand-new developments. There’s likewise a Stake Act sign which is easily accessible through the Tobacco education and learning Clearinghouse of California in ~ 1-800-258-9090 ext. 230 or ext. 103. (Keep in mind the the law was spreading with very short notice – roughly 30 days – for this reason state indicators may not be ready yet.)